RELATED BOOKS:
Hard Country
Language: en
Pages: 640
Authors: Michael McGarrity
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-05-10 - Publisher: Penguin

A richly authentic epic adventure of rough-hewn men and courageous women, set in the hard country of the American Southwest frontier. Hard Country is a rare and extraordinary story of one family’s struggle to settle and endure in the vast, untamed territory of New Mexico. In the wake of the
Backlands
Language: en
Pages: 544
Authors: Michael McGarrity
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-05-05 - Publisher: Penguin

In the New York Times bestselling Hard Country, Michael McGarrity gave readers “an expansive, lyrical period Western in the tradition of A. B. Guthrie Jr. and Larry McMurtry” (Hampton Sides). Now McGarrity continues his richly authentic epic of life on the last vestiges of the twentieth-century American frontier. Scarred by
The Last Ranch
Language: en
Pages: 544
Authors: Michael McGarrity
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-05-17 - Publisher: Penguin

The grand saga of an American ranching family continues in The Last Ranch, the final, mesmerizing book of New York Times bestseller Michael McGarrity’s gripping and richly authentic American West trilogy. When Matthew Kerney returns to his ranch in the beautiful San Andres Mountains after serving in Sicily during World
Residue: A Kevin Kerney Novel
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: Michael McGarrity
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-10-30 - Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

Former police chief Kevin Kerney returns—this time as the prime suspect in a brutal cold-case murder investigation. Against the backdrop of the harsh desert and high mountain country of southwestern New Mexico, a high-octane quest for the truth untangles a complex history of dark family secrets, cold-blooded murders, rogue cops,
The American West
Language: en
Pages: 616
Authors: Robert V. Hine, John Mack Faragher
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2000-01-01 - Publisher: Yale University Press

Two eminent historians, Robert V. Hine and John Mack Faragher, present the American West as both frontier and region, real and imagined, old and new, and they show how men and women of all ethnic groups were affected when different cultures met and clashed. Their concise and engaging survey of